• Follow us on
  • rss

Past Winners


In 2018, the Chairman of the Breakthrough Prize Judges was Conservative MP Jacob Rees-Mogg. The question he set was:
What market-based, popular policy would you recommend to alleviate the UK’s housing shortage, and to rejuvenate our property-owning democracy?

The winner of the £50,000 first prize was Ben Clements, with his proposal for a Land Purchase Act, a market-based policy that centres on how swathes of public land can be made available for people to build homes according to their own choice and preference.


Download the winning entry


2018 Judging Panel

(From left to right)

Jacob Rees-Mogg MP,  Conservative Member of Parliament for North East Somerset

Richard Koch, author, speaker, investor, and a former management consultant and entrepreneur

Mark Littlewood, Director General of the Institute of Economic Affairs and the IEA’s Ralph Harris Fellow


The IEA is currently collating the pick of the 2018 entries into a new book – Raising the Roof (due for publication by summer 2019)
which will make an important contribution to the public debate on the UK’s housing crisis.


2017 was the inaugural year of the Richard Koch Breakthrough Prize and the question was set by Richard Koch himself. The question he set was:

What novel policy suggestion would improve economic prosperity and social outcomes in developed countries, as well as improve economic freedom?

The winners of the £50,000 first prize were Mark Feldner and Mathew Bonnon, who submitted a jointly authored proposal on Fiscal Liberalisation.

Download the winning entry


2017 Judging Panel




(From left to right)

Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith MP, Member of Parliament for Chingford and Woodford Green, former Secretary of State for Work and Pensions, former Leader of the Opposition

Professor Philip Booth, Professor of Finance, Public Policy and Ethics at St. Mary’s University, Twickenham and Academic and Research Director at the Institute of Economic Affairs

Jeremy Browne, Special Representative for the City of London to the EU

Dr Steve Davies, Head of Education at the Institute of Economic Affairs

Richard Turnball, Director of the Centre for Enterprise, Markets and Ethics

Baroness Alison Wolf, Sir Roy Griffiths Professor of Public Sector Management

Professor Abigail Hall Blanco, Assistant Professor of Economics at the University of Tampa

Scroll to Top